Welcome to the South Pasadena Middle School (SPMS) PTA Website. The SPMS PTA is a partnership between our dedicated parents, teachers, administration, and staff. We all work together to enrich our children’s education and school experiences, and to unite our community. We do this inclusively, by having conversations, developing programs, activities, raising funds to implement these plans.

Your involvement, no matter how big or small,  is not only welcome, but also necessary for our students to thrive!

Upcoming Events:

8th Grade Promotion — Tuesday, 5:30 – 7:00 p.m.

Help the SPMS 8th grade student and PTA Promotion Committee! We are in need of $1,500 to supply the 8th Grade students with enough funding to cover the expense of the annual 8th grade Breakfast Fund. The 8th Grade Promotion Breakfast is a tradition giving the 8th grade students their last memorable experience with the Middle School. Help us carry on this wonderful tradition!
Contribute to the 8th Grade Breakfast Fund HERE. Contact Tina Gavlak (8th Grade PTA Promotion Committee Chair) at tgavlak@gmail.com if you have questions.


ALL parents with students in SPMS next fall need to register online: (copy and past link) https://www.spusd.net/apps/pages/index.jsp?uREC_ID=757034&type=d&pREC_ID=1164009. 

ALL incoming 6th graders must register in the end of July.

ALL incoming 7th graders must provide proof of T-dap vaccination.

More information about Middle School registration is here (or copy and paste link) https://www.spusd.net/apps/pages/index.jsp?uREC_ID=757034&type=d&pREC_ID=1164338


Thank you for shopping on Amazon for goods and gifts using the SPMS PTA/Amazon link.


The 2019-2020 Executive Board (sworn in May 29; takes office July 1, 2019)

  • President — Emily Cline
  • Executive Vice President — Sara Shaffer
  • 1st VP Ways & Means — Lori Davis Denny
  • 2nd VP Programs — Shang Hur
  • 3rd VP Membership — Tammy Selden
  • Treasurer — Beatrice Sanchez
  • Recording Secretary — Betsy DeLeon
  • Auditor — Ittai Shadmon
  • Historian — Kim Carlson
  • Financial Secretary — Karin Meyer Burger

The following members have been appointed by the Chair:

  • Corresponding Secretary — Sally Takeda
  • Parliamentarian — Aimee Wong
  • Wish Night — Vanessa Godson, Katrina Lowstutter

A heart-felt thank you to those who served in the 2018-19 Executive Board and will be stepping off. You are deeply appreciated. You will be missed!

  • Treasurer — Peitty Chou
  • Recording Secretary — Claudia Menendez
  • Historian — Charlotte Bourke
  • Financial Secretary — Marina Keiser

Follow us on Facebook and Instagram, and check here regularly for changes or updates.

Questions or suggestions? Please contact PTA President Emily Cline at emilycline@sbcglobal.net.

We look forward to seeing you at the PTA meeting and events!

Follow us on Facebook and Instagram